Chemical Society of Washington

Leo Schubert Award

Leo Schubert Award

Every year letters are sent to the approximately 200 high schools in the CSW Section requesting the principals to nominate a teacher for the Leo Schubert Award for the Outstanding Teaching of High School Chemistry. The award was established in 1979 to honor Dr. Leo Schubert of American University, who died in 1978. Dr. Schubert devoted much of his career to developing programs for high school teachers and students. The award consists of an honorarium (currently $500) and a certificate.

The winner of the Leo Schubert Award becomes the CSW's nominee for the Middle Atlantic Region Award for the outstanding teaching of high school chemistry. Five of the CSW's nominees have won this award.

The winner of the MARM award then competes for the very prestigious ACS's James B. Conant Award for the outstanding teaching of high school chemistry.

Nominations for the Leo Schubert Award must be comprehensive and include details such as innovation in teaching, writing curricula, outside teaching, involvement in science fairs, and post graduate study.

Previous Schubert Award Winners

Year Leo Schubert Award Winner
Jerry Turner, Richard Montgomery High School, Rockville, MD and Kimberly Z. Duncan, Flint High School, Oakton, VA 
Xu Duan, Holton-Arms School, Bethesda, MD 
Mr. Douglas H. Errett, St. Albans School, Washington, DC 
Dr. Mary Catherine Cross, Sherwood High School, Sandy Spring, MD 
Mr. Kent Jaffrey, Osbourn High School, Manassa, VA (awarded in 2008) 
Dr. Brian J. Kennedy, Thomas Jefferson HS for Science & Technology, Alexandria, VA (awarded in 2007)
Mrs. Doris Ellen Ohmes, Woodson ED Center at W. T. Woodson HS, Fairfax, VA (awarded in 2006)  
Ms. Stacy DeAnne Brasfield, Washington-Lee HS, Arlington, VA  (awarded in 2005) 
Ms. Gwendolyn Marbury, DeMatha HS, Hyattsville, MD (awarded in  2004) 
Mr. Robert M. Pitts, Thomas Stone HS, Waldorf, MD (awarded in  2003) 
Mrs. Virginia Ginger Sutula, Laurel HS, Laurel, MD (awarded in 2002) 
Mr. Ralph E. Reeves, Jr., DeMatha Catholic HS, Hyattsville, MD
2001 Mrs. Joy McManus, Mount Vernon High School, Alexandria, VA
2000 Mrs. Donna West, W.T. Woodson High School, Fairfax, VA
1999 Ms. Ann Woodson, Bell Multicultural High School, Washington, DC
1998 Dr. Mary Kochansky, Suitland High School, Forrestville, MD
1997 Mr. Coit Hundley, Eleanor Roosevelt High School, Greenbelt, MD
1996 Mrs. Elna Clevenger, National Cathedral School, Washington, DC
1995 Mrs. Kathleen Sweeney-Hammond, Maret School, Washington, DC
1994 Mrs. Joy Elliott, Gwyn Park High School, Brandywine, MD
1993 Mrs. Suzanne Kistler, Calvert High School, Prince Frederick, MD
1992 Mrs. Peggy N. Matlock, James Madison High School, Vienna, VA
1991 Mrs. Caryn Galatis, Thomas A. Edison High School, Alexandira, VA
1990 Dr. Robert J. Hearle, Eleanor Roosevelt High School, Greenbelt, Md
1989 Ms. Annette Tamm, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD
1988 Mrs. Doris Sandoval, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, Bethesda, MD
1987 Mrs. Marie McCarthy, Stone Ridge Country Day School, Bethesda, MD
1986 Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Key, St. Alban's School, Washington, DC
1985 Mr. Alferd E. Saieed, James Madison High School, Vienna, VA
1984 Mr. John Boblick, Poolesville High School, Poolesville, MD
1983 Mrs. Marjorie Lundegard, Oakton High School, Fairfax, VA
1982 Mr. Edgar McConnell, Mclean High School, Mclean, VA and
1982 Mrs. Edythe Durie, West Springfield High School,Springfield, VA
1981 Dr. John Liebermann, T.C. Williams High School,Alexandria, VA
1980 Mr. Lewis Sanford, Walter Johnson High School,Bethesda, MD
1979 Mrs. Lucy McCorkle, Cardoza High School,Washington, DC